Senate calls for proper funding of NCPD

Senate calls for proper funding of NCPD

The Senate on Monday urged the Federal Government to properly fund the newly established National Commission for Persons with Disabilities (NCPD).

Sen. Obinna Ogba (PDP-Ebonyi), Chairman, Senate Committee on Youth and Social Development, made the call at the screening of nominees for the position of chairman and members of the board of the commission in Abuja.

Ogba said that adequate funding of the commission would facilitate its operations.

He underscored the need for the government to put in place adequate funding for NCPD, saying that it would enable the commission to achieve the rationale behind its establishment.

“We thank the Executive for setting up the National Commission for Persons with Disabilities and for nominating persons to run it.

“But putting such intervention mechanism in place without the required funding, will defeat the purpose for which the commission was established.

“On our own part, here in the Senate and by extension, the National Assembly, having through legislation, facilitated the establishment of the commission, we shall at any given time, make required appropriation for effective and efficient functioning of the commission.

“It is a welcome development that nominees for appointments into the commission are being screened four days after the International Day for Persons Living with Disabilities (PLD) on Dec. 3,” he said.

Ogba advised the nominees to remember their co-activists for the rights of PLD in the past by integrating them in the programmes of the commission.


“Mr Chairman and members, please after your confirmation by the Senate, remember to use the commission to take care of interests of the physically challenged, particularly those who are with you in the trenches during the protests era,” he said.


Those screened, awaiting the confirmation of the Senate at its plenary, include Dr Hussaini Suleiman Kangiwa, the nominee for Chairman from North West.


Others screened for board membership include Mr Oparaku Jaja (South-East), Mrs Philomena Isioma Konwea (South South) and Mr Omopariola Oluwasola (South West).


The remaining nominees are Mrs Amina Audu (North West), Mrs Esther Awu (North Central) and Mr Abba Ibrahim (North East).

Share this post