South-West senators visit Lagos, sue for peace

South-West senators visit Lagos, sue for peace

Senators from the South-West states on Tuesday visited Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State, to commiserate with him and the people of the state over the mayhem arising from the EndSARS protest.


Sen. Ajayi Boroffice, who led the lawmakers, said that the Senate was pained by the level of damage in the state and appealed to the citizens to work for the restoration of peace.


“We are concerned about the gravity of the damage to the lives and property in Lagos and other places.


“We are going to move a motion in the Senate to urge the Federal Government to come to the assistance of Lagos State because the burden of the damage will be too much for Lagos alone to bear,” he said.


According to him, the Senate is in support of the demands of the youths and will do all within its power to actualise them.


“We are working with government to ensure that those demands that require constitutional approval will be done by us expeditiously.


“We are here today on a courtesy visit to the Executive Governor of Lagos State, to solidarize with him and to commiserate with him on the recent experience of Lagos State.


“We are, indeed, very unhappy that at this stage in our history, this type of damage has been done to Lagos State.


“We pray that this type of thing will not happen again. Those who are in governance and those who are out of governance; all have a role to play to ensure that this country moves forward.


“We are aware of the role the media can play, and we want to plead with you that in the discharge of your duty, you should put Nigeria´s unity first,” Boroffice said.


Regent Times reports the senators, who came on the visit, include Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo North), Ayo Akinyelure (Ondo Central), Nicholas Tofowomo (Ondo South) and Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central).


Others are Odebiyi Tolulope (Ogun West), Bashiru Ajibola (Osun Central), Fadahunsi Adenigba (Osun East), Oriolowo Aderele (Osun West) and Folarin Teslim (Oyo Central),


Sen. Buhari Abdulfatai (Oyo North), Sen. Kola Balogun (Oyo South), Sen. Adetunmbi Olubunmi (Ekiti North), Sen. Bamidele Opeyemi (Ekiti Central) and Sen. Olujimi Abiodun (Ekiti South) are also part of the team.

Share this post